Rural Education | Ohio Department of Education

The Rural Districts of Ohio

List of each rural school district and its associated typology.

What Makes a County Rural?

In 1996, the Ohio Department of Education created a classification for several types of similar districts called the Ohio School District Typology. Rural districts in typology code 1 (blue in map below) have high student poverty and low student population. Rural districts in typology code 2 (green in the map below) have average student poverty and a very low student population.

Map of rural counties of Ohio

To create this typology, the ministry used multiple data sources to classify similar districts together based on shared demographic and geographic characteristics. The classifications can thus serve as the basis for a stratified sample of counties. These classifications also allow researchers to focus on a specific district type, e.g. B. large urban districts or rural districts with high poverty. Eight typology categories were created for the 2013 typology (one more than the 2007 typology). Rural typology classifications are described in the table below.

Typology Code 2013

main grouping


districts within the typology

Typology students

1 rural high student poverty and low student population 124 170,000
2 rural average student poverty and very low student population 107 110,000

National Center for Statistics on Education (NCES) local codes.

Local codes are a measure of a school district’s geographic area. The codes range from “big city” to “rural”. There will be new codes for the 2017–2018 school year and beyond based on the geographic standards used in the 2000 census. The current codes were used for the 2016-2017 school year and before.

Ohio’s alternate definition of rural

Each state may select an alternate rural definition to identify districts that may qualify for REAP funding. When NCES changes a location code, some districts that were previously eligible for REAP are no longer eligible and lose that valuable funding. Ohio has a new alternative definition that uses a district’s typology. The districts identified as rural according to the district typology may meet the criteria for REAP funding.

grant opportunities

Rural education initiative

The Rural Education Initiative (Title V, Part B) is a series of federal programs designed to address the unique needs of rural Local Education Agencies (LEAs). These LEAs often lack the staff and resources needed to compete for competitive federal grants, and often receive formula allocations that are too small to be used effectively for their intended purposes.

  • Title V, Part B – Rural Education Achievement Program (REAP) – Title V Part B (REAP) provides additional funding to support eligible rural counties unable to compete for competitive federal grants and receive smaller allocations from federal entitlement funds. REAP funds are used to implement effective federal programs to improve students’ academic performance.
  • Small, rural school performance programThe purpose of the Small, Rural School Achievement (SRSA) program is to provide financial support to rural Local Education Agencies (LEAs) to fund initiatives aimed at improving students’ academic achievement. LEAs are entitled to funding if they meet basic funding and application requirements. The bonuses are awarded annually and the bonus amounts are determined using a formula. Grantees may use SRSA funds to conduct activities approved under any of the following federal programs: Video.
  • Program for rural and low-income schools – The purpose of the Rural and Low-Income School (RLIS) program is to provide financial support to rural counties for initiatives to improve student achievement. The scholarship is non-competitive and eligibility is determined by law. The awards are presented annually to State Education Agencies (SEAs) that award grants to Local Education Agencies (LEAs) that meet applicable requirements. Awards are given to all SEAs that apply and meet the applicable requirements.

Additional federal programs

  • The Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers Program (21st CCLC). – The Nita M. Lowey 21st Century Community Learning Centers (21st CCLC) program provides opportunities for academic support for children from economically disadvantaged families and in underperforming schools. School districts, schools, community-based organizations, including religious organizations, colleges, city or county government agencies, for-profit corporations, and other public or private entities are eligible for the 21st CCLC grant. This government-funded scholarship program supports quality extracurricular learning opportunities and related activities for students attending eligible schools. Recent flexibility from the US Department of Education allows 21st CCLC funds to be used for extended study time programs during the school day, school week, or school year in addition to extracurricular time.

The Rural Education Toolbox

The Rural Educator’s Toolbox includes resources and tools related to data analysis, systemic review, funding opportunities, human capital, program support or direct support from the state support teams for rural educators and administrators.

Resources for Administrators

Resources for teachers

Parent Resources

Community Resources

Additional Resources

Last modified: 2022-11-18 14:01:36